In many cities crime is increasing.

Why do you think this is happening?

What can governments do to help reduce crime rates?

Crime rate growth is a serious problem that many cities of the world are facing it. Unemployment and lack of the security could be the main problem. However, there are applicable solutions for them.

People who are unemployed and are not afraid of punishments due to the less secure society tend to commit crime. Those people may not have permanent work place and fixed income. As a result, they are likely to commit crimes such as shoplifting, burglary and mugging to cover the initial necessities. Because the punishments for the crimes are not strict enough, criminals retain posing a threat to society. For example, if people commit robbery or mugging, they are fined for a small amount of money in many cities. Thus, crime rate increasing and taking a heavy toll in those communities.

Nevertheless, the problems mentioned can be reduced by improving literacy rate and implementing draconian punishments. Governments should enhance the education system since the high level of unemployment stems from illiteracy. Provided that individuals gained useful skills and knowledge, they would occupy a well-paid profession. Another proper measurement is to legislate strict laws against committing crimes. For instance, community service and prison sentence are more serious punishments for those who are liable to commit a crime repeatedly. Even life sentence can be imposed on dangerous criminals, with the help of education as well as strict laws, the authorities could provide safety for the residents.

In conclusion, the drawbacks explained regarding the factors of crime rate growth can be reduced through proper education and strict penalties.