In many cities, planners have separated schools, homes, shops and offices into specific areas which are widely separated from each other. Do you think the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages for city residents?

Nowadays, many hold the view that the policy which plans to build separated zones for different uses is of positive effect. However, there is a body of opinion which claims that separated regions have many disadvantages. In this essay, I will examine both sides of the debate and give my own opinion.

To begin with, it is undeniable that this plan could help people to find their destination easily. For example, we may have a purpose of buying something and the separated region for shopping make the shopping malls gathering together in order that we can find the thing we want to buy easily instead of finding here and there in a combination region. In addition, this policy makes the government administrate the sector better as the gathering of similar uses of the region lead to a clearly construction of the city, the function of a sector is obvious therefore easier to be managed by the government.

On the other hand, nonetheless, people would be bothered due to the problems aroused by the far distance between different regions may also be obvious. To be specific, people need to spend more time on the travel from one sector to another if they want to make use of two regions, such as working and shopping. Furthermore, separated planning declines the cooperation between different fields. Since the plan sets the areas for different uses far from each other, different areas may be are hard to create a connection due to the distance, activities like commercial advertisement in campus may be less possible.

To summarise, there is no doubt that the policy of setting separated regions could help people find destination easily and make the government convenient to manage the city. At the same time, nevertheless, the long distance could bother people and cut down the connection between different parts. In the final analysis, therefore, one can conclude that the negative effect of separated design outweigh the positive.