In many cities, planners have separated schools, homes, shops and offices into specific areas which are widely separated from each other. Do you think the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages for city residents?

Nowadays, many cities are planned to be separated into specific areas which have different functions. In this essay, I will examine its benefits and drawbacks and give my opinion.

To begin with, it is undeniable that independent blocks with specific functions can be better managed. This is because governments do not need to consider too much factors except the main function of each area. For example, mangers can limit the number of vehicles to reduce the traffic noise in school areas as there are not too much people like office areas. In addition, different areas could improve the efficiency of limited cities’ land resources. Compared with mixed layout, buildings with same functions will share a larger land, so they have more room to develop.

On the other hand, nonetheless, distant blocks are not convenient for city dwellers living in accommodations far from other blocks, they have to spend much time on the way to workplace or shops, causing troublesome to their daily lives. Furthermore, separated cities would have stress in transportation. Large number of people need to transfer long distance, which could increase the number of personal vehicles and cause frequent traffic congestions.

To summarize, separating cities by different functions is a good policy to promote each area’s development but pose heavy pressure to both personal commuting and traffic system. In the final analysis, therefore, one can conclude that cities should not be constructed separately, planners should mix different kinds of services in a city to provide higher quality of life to citizens.