Many countries and cultures around the world are experiencing higher rate of childhood obesity. In your opinion, what can be done to help children maintain a healthy weight and lifestyle?

It is true that the rate of obesity in children in several countries and cultures across the globe has been increasing rapidly in recent years. As this is a disheartening situation, family and society should actively promote a healthy young generation.

First, family should set up a healthy diet plan for their daily meals. Through this plan, children could be encouraged to adopt healthy eating habits such as taking in more vegetables and fruits. These foods are not just low in saturated fat but can also give their bodies sufficient and well-balanced nutrition to effectively work and study. Apart from that, parents should altogether withdraw their children from a habit of consuming junk food as these foods always contain an excessive amount of sugar and fat, which can potentially lead to some chronic diseases like diabetes or even cancers.

Also, governments should give immediate attention to this issue. Given the fact that today children are less active than those in the past due to a sedentary lifestyle, which is the main reason why they are prone to obesity, the authorities should therefore invest in creating more playgrounds so that children will have greater opportunities to engage themselves in outdoor activities. It is also notable that unhealthy food advertisement are now intentionally targeted in children, causing fake hunger signals for unneccesarily nutritous food consumption. To tackle this problem, governments should impose higher tax on such foods and at the same time, set strict regulations on food advertisement aimed at children.

In conclusion, parents and governments should jointly held responsibility for childhood obesity prevention.