In many countries, good schools and medical facilities are available only in cities. SOme people think new teachers and doctors should work in rural areas for a few years. But other people think everyone should have the freedom to choose where they work.

Due to wide gap between rural and urban tracts of a nation, many people are of the opinion that new teachers and doctors should provide their services to the rural areas. However, there are some people who argue that it is the teachers or doctors wish to decide where to work. I will further discuss both sides of the argument.

There are many advantages to the fresh teachers and doctors by working in rural areas. Firstly, the people in the rural areas can have access to medical facilities and education. Secondly, the teachers and doctors who are fresh from universities and with sound knowledge can translate their theoretical knowledge into practical knowledge. Thirdly, there are many doctors and teachers in urban areas. So, no institution would opt for fresh candidates. Therefore, these candidates can gain lots of experience in their early years of career and some teachers and doctors can even stay in the rural area to serve the people in that locality.

However, there are some people who argue that in a democratic country like India, people have their right to choose where to work. It is often true that if people are sent to rural areas without their will, they may work passively and the villagers do not get any benefit from their services. Secondly, there will be fewer and fewer students who would choose such type of jobs and in the long run, there would be shortage of jobs.

I believe that government should send the fresh doctors and teachers to rural areas for work and provide them with some incentives and high salaries which would further help to bridge the gap between rural and urban areas.