In many countries not enough students are choosing to study science subjects. What are causes? And what will be effects on society?

The idea of lacking science learners has been a topic of public interest. It seems to me that this trend may stem from excessive study load and fewer employment opportunities. As a result, this can lead to several detrimental impacts on society including the reduction of labor force and technological inventions related to this field in the future.

I reckon there have been two widely-observed factors leading to less students choosing science as their major. One of which is that such subjects are extremely more challenging and demanding compared to others, which require a large amount of time and effort to be spent on, gradually depriving many learners of their privacy. We can see this in the way that the majority of science graduates are said to conduct numerous experiments and complicated projects on a daily basis, which prevents them from having ample time to destress. Another reason is that learners may face the risk of unemployment in the light of the scarcity of occupation opportunities associated with this industry, this, in the long run, will make them no longer fascinated with scientific studies. In brief, the shortage of job chances and demanding a large deal of attempts plus patience are thought to be two major driving causes behind this phenomenon.

There are some severe influences on our society due to two aforementioned causes aside. First of all, there will be a decrease in the number of scientific human resources; however; the amount of job vacancies in other areas is limited, which is potentially resulting in the imbalance of future workforce and this can considerably put a strain on the community. In addition, with fewer scientific talents, our nation would be on the verge of curbing technological developments and breakthroughs, sooner and later exacerbating their living standard. In short, it appears that these aspects are assumed to directly restrict the country’s progress and cause the unemployment crisis.

In conclusion, a decline in students pursuing science may be as a result of high requirements of these subjects plus insufficient professions, and there are some negative consequences arising from these downsides.