In many countries, people are moving away from rural areas and toward urban areas.Why do you think is that?What problems can this cause?
Migration from the countryside to cities is certainly a topical issue, as so many nations are
seeing this pattern today. There are three main causes, and two key impacts, which I will outline now.
The main cause is probably the lack of employment available to rural people. Rural
industries, ranging from agriculture to food production and animal breeding, have all been
rationalized and made far more efficient in recent years, meaning that fewer people are needed to
staff them. Furthermore, the growth of employment opportunities in the cities means that people,
especially youngsters, are tempted to move there by higher wages and the prospect of reliable work.
Finally, many countries still have a weaker infrastructure in rural areas, especially in terms of
transport and economic activity. For example, if a country dweller is unable to find public transport
to get to work locally, that person will inevitably consider moving to a city where the infrastructure is
far better established.
Regarding the effects felt by the urban residents, perhaps the main impact is on
accommodation. An increased urban population drives up the cost of buying or renting a home,
leading to possible hardship for people who had assumed that prices would remain stable. We can
see this clearly in major conurbations such as London, Sao Paolo or Delhi, where property prices are
extremely high and continue to rise. The other main effect on the existing city population is the vastly
increased competition for job opportunities, especially at a less skilled level. For instance, drivers,
shop workers and hospitality staff find themselves competing for work with new arrivals who are
often prepared to work for less. This can lead to a reduction in wages and consequent decline in the standard of living, especially when combined with the increased cost of housing.