In many countries, plastic shopping bags are the main type of rubbish. They cause water pollution and land pollution, so they should be banned. To what extent do you agree?

Plastic, in the forms of shopping bags, in general caused a worldwide concern as the major source of polluter that pollutes land and water.Therefore, some suggest prohibiting the usages of plastic bags. I somewhat disagree with this idea because a complete prohibition is rather a draconian solution whereas alternative solutions are readily available.

Undoubtedly, plastic shopping bags being the product of plastic which is non-biodegradable, are one of the primary source of land and water pollutions. Firstly, disposal of it into landfills leads to land pollutions because they might spread out from those to nearby human habitats due to natural phenomenon like strong winds, cyclones and floods. Secondly, disposing them into water sources such as Sewages and Canals also causes disruptions of water’s natural flows by stagnating waste into the flows which consequently result in polluting water. Finally, burning them, which releases toxic substances, for instance, CFCs, carbon-di-oxide and carbon-mono-oxide into the atmosphere, also stimulates air pollutions. Therefore, banning the production and usages of it is the only way left to tackle land and water contaminations.

Despite this, there are still alternatives which might be even more effective and efficient in tackling the issue. Recycling of it rather than disposing to landfills combined with introduction of eco-friendly products such as jutes bags into the markets would be ideal solution to the problems. Besides this, enlightening the masses by raising awareness among them about the usages and importance of environmentally friendly products with regards to protecting environment, would be another quantum leap towards resolution of the same.

In conclusion, although plastic shopping bags admittedly one of the major polluter of land and water worldwide, prohibiting usages and production appear to be rather hard and fast approach to the problem. However, controlling usage and recycling of it combined with promotion of better alternatives would be the best solution to the problems.