In many countries, plastic shopping bags are the main type of rubbish. They cause water pollution and land pollution, so they should be banned. To what extent do you agree?

Plastic, in the forms of shopping bags, in general caused a worldwide concern as the major source of polluter that pollutes land and water. Therefore, some suggest prohibiting the production and usages of plastic shopping bags. I somewhat disagree with this idea because the complete prohibition is rather a draconian solution whereas alternative solutions are readily available.

Undoubtedly, plastic shopping bags being the product of plastic which is non-biodegradable, are one of the primary source of land and water pollutions. Firstly, disposal of it into landfills leads to land pollutions because they might spread out from those to nearby human habitats due to natural phenomenon like strong winds, cyclones and floods. Secondly, disposing them into water sources such as Sewages and Canals also causes disruptions of water’s natural flows by stagnating waste into the flows which consequently result in polluting water. Finally, burning them, which releases toxic substances, for instance, CFCs, carbon-di-oxide and carbon-mono-oxide into the atmosphere, also stimulates air pollutions. Thus, banning the production and usages of it is the only way left to tackle land and water contaminations.

Despite this, there are still alternatives which might be even more effective and efficient in tackling the issue. Recycling of it rather than disposing to landfills combined with introduction of eco-friendly products such as jutes bags into the markets would be ideal solution to the problems. Besides this, enlightening the masses by raising awareness among them about the usages and importance of environmentally friendly products with regards to protecting environment, would be another quantum leap towards resolution of the same. Furthermore, when it comes to combating land and water pollutions, this could not be resolved by banning and reducing of it alone since there are other equally important sources of pollutants. For examples, waste from constructions, households, industries and agricultures which plays dominant role to degrade land. In case of water, waste from factories, sewage, power plants, coal mines and oil refineries, sources plays a vital role in contaminating water. So, it would be foolish to expect something dramatic positive change to happen about the situation by prohibiting plastic bags alone if government fails to undertake pragmatic action to regulate pollution from those sources.

In conclusion, although plastic shopping bags admittedly one of the major polluter of land and water worldwide, prohibiting usages and production appear to be rather hard and fast approach to the problem. However, controlling usage and recycling of it combined with promotion of better alternatives would be the best solution to the problems.