In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Does this trend have positive or negative effects on the society?

The population of aged persons is elevating in numerous nations over the globe. There could be various reasons for this phenomenon with some favourable and adverse consequences in the community. However, both the impacts will be discussed further with relevant exemplification.

The first and foremost beneficial effect among the individuals by living their life to the fullest is due to the advancement of the health care system of the country. The younger ones and adults can have a chance to stay and enjoy with their grandparents and parents respectively. Moreover, the older generation is more experienced and has valuable assets therefore, they can guide and provide advice to their close family members and keep them on track and make them understand how to deal with each and every situation they face. For instance, the grandparents play an essential role in a family’s unity and if all the families will have an aged person to advise then it may help in society’s overall development and enhancement as they are having high moral values and experience.

However, I would not regard the health problems associated with older people such as Alzheimer’s or pain in joints. As the old people are prone to diseases, they will have to pay for their hospital bills. In addition to it, they will turn into a burden to a family. In the current generation, the children make their retired parents stay in old-age homes as they can’t afford the time, care and money they need. Apart from that, the government institutions will need to pay for the retired generation which will eventually turn into a financial crisis in the economical sector.

To sum up, there is a multitude of gains for the longevity of the older generations can offer to the society such as the priceless advice to the youth along with the decision-making. Nevertheless, it can also make a negative effect on societal development as they need funds for the cure of the diseases otherwise they will die out of pain.