In many countries, schools have several problems with students’ behavior. What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

Schools in several countries have major issues with the way students behave. Regular use of psychoactive substance among teenagers and the controversial view of discipline are the two main causes of this problem, while the most viable solution is changing the orientation of the public on these issues through public awareness carrying out death penalties.‎

Bad behavior can manifest in so many ways. Teenagers today with more accessible to hard drugs tend to have such behavior. As a result of taking these mind-altering drugs, majority of them develop behavioral disorders and become rebellious, aggressive and sociopathic, and these are some of the inappropriate behavior that many schools have hard time dealing with. For example, the Drug Use Monitoring in Australia program found that 70% of student offenders tested positive to drugs while almost half (30%) reported having taken cannabis at the time when they committed crimes. What is more, many do not have a wholesome view of discipline. Some believe that punishing a child, like getting them out of the class, would negatively affect the child in later years, and therefore many schools in Japan avoid disciplining offending students. What is the consequence of this trend? This causes a lot of children repeatedly commit crimes in school. If no corrective measures in place for them are taken, this behavior takes a toll on the school.

The most effective solution to this problem is changing the society's orientation through public awareness and imposing a strict regulation. Students should be educated enough on the dangers of the use of psychoactive substance. Having this knowledge would help them avoid these behavior-altering-drugs. Also, the benefits of enforcing laws by punishing offending minors should be highlighted to parents and school authorities as this would go a long way in correcting this problem. In 2000, Canadian government allocated $15 million for a media campaign to raise awareness about the negative impacts of drugs for students while the death penalty for drug offences is socially introduced. In the following five years, the eventual result showed the dramatic reduction to 40% in hostile and aggressive behavior in students. Since then, majority of schools in Canada have launched an orientation program introducing schoolchildren the benefits of staying away from drugs.

In conclusion, schools in many parts of the world have issues dealing with students’ behavior. The identified causes to this problem are the prevalent use of hard drugs among minors and the public unwholesome view of discipline, while the aforementioned solutions is the most practical way of correcting this problem.