In many countries, truancy is a worrying problem for both parents and educators. What are the causes of truancy and what may be the effects on the child and the wider community?

Unauthorized absence from school could excite some pupils; however, it also severely impacts on their future and the community. The subsequent paragraphs will discuss the roots of this situation and possible consequences.

The underlying reason for truancy is probably because children lose interest in school, which can result from several factors like rigid curricula, dull flows of lessons or poor instruction. A depiction suggesting the personal grievance of this is pupils’ frequent avoidance of specific lessons given by certain teachers. Also, truancy occurs when children are strongly influenced by their peers who frequently play truant. This might be seen in the way that children would like to be accepted by their friends more than rewarded for their academic performance or improvement.

Regarding possible effects, the most likely one is that school absenteeism can cause severe academic underperformance, followed by poorly examining and perhaps, fewer opportunities for progressing careers in the future. Another major effect points to the risk of a rising of juvenile crime, which may, sometimes, just arises from youngsters’ temptation to minor crimes or antisocial activities when they are under no supervision. For instance, several cases of criminal trespass have the serious involvement of young vandals, many of who are only truant before entering the criminal path. Those, sitting alongside other delinquent behaviours like damaging private properties, littering with trash, or threatening the elderly spread the sense of instability and anxiety, which is considered as another indirect impact of truancy.

In conclusion, school problems or peer influence can be traced to the general source of truancy and this issue have negative effects on both individual achievement and society regarding the tendency of young people committing an offence.