In many countries, truancy is a worrying problem for both parents and educators. What are the causes of truancy and what may be the effects on the child and the wider community?

A prolonged absence from compulsory schooling without approval could severely impact on children’s future and the whole community. The subsequent paragraphs will discuss the roots of this situation and possible consequences.

The causes of school truancy seem to derive from both internal and external sources. An internal underlying factor is probably because children lose interest in school, which can result from several factors like rigid curricula, dull flows of lessons or poor instruction. A depiction of this personal excuse is pupils’ frequent avoidance of specific lessons given by certain teachers. Relating to external ones, we should mention peer influence, according to which children tend to follow their peers who play truant frequently. This might be explained that children would like to be accepted by their friends more than rewarded for their excellent academic performance or improvement.

Regarding possible effects, the most likely one is that school absenteeism can cause severe academic underperformance, followed by poorly examining and perhaps, fewer opportunities for progressing careers in the future. Another major effect points to the risk of a rising of juvenile crime, which, sometimes, just arises from youngsters’ temptation to minor crimes or antisocial activities when they are under no supervision. For instance, several cases of criminal trespass have the serious involvement of young vandals, many of who are only truants before entering the criminal path. Those, sitting alongside other delinquency like damaging private properties, littering with trash, or threatening the elderly spread the sense of instability and anxiety, which is a social impact of truancy.

In conclusion, school problems or peer influence can be traced to the general source of truancy and this issue have negative effects on both individuals and society, which is mainly seen in terms of personal underachievement and a high tendency of youth offence.