Many employers are now offering their employees the option to work from home. It is a positive or negative development?

In the context of the COVID-19 pandemic, a lot of companies now give their staff the ability to work away from the office. From my point of view, this trend has a positive development due to the reasons that I am going to give in this essay.

First of all, I will discuss some of the merits of teleworking. There is a significant benefit of time and money saving related to this. By working from home, employees would not have to travel a considerable distance from their homes to workplaces. Therefore, people could spend less on fuel and reduce time commuting, which is really long and annoying when there are traffic jams. Besides, workers' mental health would improve in the comfort of their homes, in contrast to the peer pressure that comes from colleagues in the work environment. This kind of pressure is not healthy and could sometimes lead to depression and other issues.

On the other hand, regarding working in offices, there is a problem that employees find this less flexible in working hours. Because of its strictly fixed time of work, staff would have no time for other personal activities and non-work related appointments. Unlike telecommuting where workers could multitask easily, working at workplaces prevents them from this convenience; for example, they could not pick their children up from schools.

In conclusion, this new method of working has brought massive benefits compared to the demerits of the traditional way, thus I am convinced that it could be considered a beneficial practice.