Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Governments of various countries believe that economic growth is the vital objective in which the policymakers need to focus. In contrast, a number of people consider other types of development are also necessary as like as economic progress. In my view, not only economic growth is the most important goal but also other types of development are of the same importance.

Policymakers of different countries consider economic growth as the major development area where government needs to focus. One major contribution of economic growth is an increase in the salary of the employees. The increased salary will enable people to buy necessary items for their living. In addition, people will be able to spend more on their children's education and also on health services which will improve the standard of living. Another contribution of economic growth is that the government's tax collection will soar because of people's raised income. Not only income tax but also value-added tax accumulation will experience a significant increase. As a result, the government will be able to spend more on sustainable development as well as social welfare.

On the other hand, many people believe that there are also many types of development areas such as education, health sector which are also vital to focus on. If people are not enough educated, then the development will not sustain in the long run. For instance, middle east countries have gained dramatic economic growth because of natural resources. If these countries do not educate their people, their progress may witness a significant downfall after the end of the natural resources. Another area where policymakers need to focus is public health. If people's health facilities are not good enough, people have to suffer from various diseases without proper treatment. For instance, during the coronavirus pandemic, the people of Bangladesh have witnessed a huge shortage of medical facilities. Though the economic growth of Bangladesh in recent years is eye-soothing, the development in the health sector is unnoticeable.

In conclusion, policymakers think that government needs to focus on economic progress only because the improved economy will provide a better living standard. On the contrary, there are also some equally important sectors where governments need to concentrate on the necessary development. Otherwise, only economic progress can not ensure improved living standards.