Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People hold different views about which progress is important to a country. Some enunciate the idea that economic growth is the ultimate goal of every government, I agree with the idea that other measures of progress, including happiness and environmental sustainability, are as crucial.

On the one hand, boosting economy is obviously a vital aim that all countries wish to achieve. Firstly, a healthy economy is the prerequisite for the government to enhance life quality, for they have money to upgrade public facilities and provide better public services. For instance, only when the economy creates enough profit and then contributes to state budget via tax can the medical service can be provided free of charge to all citizens, thus ensuring better health. Secondly, a strong economy also increases the status of a nation on the global stage. In other words, a prosperous country will have political influences on others, demonstrated by the power of America now.

On the other hand, I would argue that there are other equally significant factors that should be taken into consideration. The first measurement is well-being since richness does not always mean happiness and good health. A telling example is Japan, which is also one of giants in the global economy, but citizens often face stress because of excessive workload. The second consideration is the environmental protection because the growth of economy normally goes with the booming of manufacturing plants, the natural resources’ exploitation and the increasing production of waste. Without environmental conservation, severe contamination is inevitable, leading to health deterioration and other more serious consequences.

In conclusion, it is obviously true that the economic development is the key marker of a country’s success, but other criteria, which are well-being and environmental protection, are equally vital.