Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar.

Do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that high level of sugar is one of the major causes of various health problems that are prevailing in the modern society. Several manufactured foods now contain higher level of sugar in order to enhance their taste. As a result of the deliciousness, people become attracted to them and make them a part of their food habit. I believe that if such products were expensive, the people will become less likely to consume them at least on a daily basis.

People eat fast foods and drinks, which contain harmful sugar and fat whenever they are spending time outside of their homes. Even some lazy people as well as students and worker who are always busy order fast foods in form of take-outs. So if fast foods and drinks become moderately costly, these people will be changing their food habits in order to save money. Furthermore, young children should be taught about the detrimental effect of unwanted nutrients (sugar and fat) on the body from an early age to divert them from sugary meals. Parents need to know how sugar can affect the body of a growing child. Currently, obesity and diabetes have become top diseases in young generation. To get a healthier new generation steps need to be taken against the manufacturers of fast foods.

Even though everyone seems to be aware of the side effects of sugary foods on their body, the sale of sodas and other soft drinks have skyrocketed in the past five years. The only reason behind is that the products have become cheaper due to their demand. So, the government should persuade the manufacturers to begin to look for an alternative to sugar. Green vegetables and fruits need to cheaper to promote healthy diet.

To conclude, changing one's habit is very difficult, specially if its their food habit. But with proper persuasion it might be possible. In this case, it can be higher price of products that will deter the customers away.