Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

The tourism sector of many countries has to face a popular issue that many museums and historical attractions are concerned by the significant number of exotic tourists rather than domestic residents. While there are some reasons for this trend, some interventions should be implemented to raise the number of indigenous visitors.

In terms of causes, there are two primary reasons that many tourism areas are facing. Firstly, native dwellers easily have a sense of boredom with attractions which are quite familiar with them in daily lives. Native museums and historical areas clearly are thronged with foreigners, who are provided with strange and exciting things, whereas such things are not different from somethings in inhabitants’ routine. Secondly, people who are in charge of advertisements usually tend to be more concerned about foreign visitors than inhabitants. For example, Suoi Tien theme park offers its services with an exorbitant fee, which usually is inappropriate with native people.

Nevertheless, local governments can tackle this issue in some ways. Firstly, authorities should allocate more resources on refreshing the exhibits. Consequently, nonstop efforts in order to innovate local museums and attractions can increase curiosity for native customers. Secondly, traveling fees should be regulated at an affordable extent to attract people who settle down in the surrounding areas. It is clear people usually desire to broaden their horizons, and therefore, an appropriate expenditure is really a motivation to enable inhabitants to visit historical sites near them.

In conclusion, while there are some obstacles leading native customers do not want to spent on familiar exhibitions, local governments can raise the number of local visitors by affordable prices and continuous innovations.