Many museums charge for admission while others are free.

Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

It is undeniable that museums are considered as holy ground for learning about culture, history and evolution of a nation. Nowadays, soe museums have started taking entrance fee from its visitors. While the action can be quite beneficial to the museums and the economy in special circumstances, I consider that it may have harmful effect on the community.

Firstly, a country can generate a huge some of money by taking admission fee. Museums are one of the main attarctions of tourists. Tourists, especially historians, flock around museums to understand the total nature of a state. As a result of charging them for the time and service, the museums will earn a great deal of money. Moreover, security can be enforced more strictly by charging admission fee to the guests. In addition to that, employment opportunity might be generated as the museum will need to hire book keepers, door guards and so on. Furthermore, outsiders can be easily managed in case of an emergency.

On the contrary, taking money from the visitors might have the opposite effect as well. It can be noticed by several analysts that the museums that charge their sight-seers, have far less people coming to them than the ones which are free. Many famous museums offer free admission, specially to the young visitors (under the age of 18) to encourage them to become more interested in their own history and culture.

To conclude, although charging admission can be advantegeous for the museum in many ways, there can be some detrimental effect on the society.