Many museums charge for admission while others are free. Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Undoubtedly, these days, museums play an immense role in illustrating nations history. There are several museums free of charge for admission. On the flip side, other ones require a fee in order to visit. In my point of view, the former sort of museum seems more appealing to me. Not only would it play an immense role in making people more enthusiastic, but it would also result in increasing people’s knowledge of history.

On the one hand, free admission can be vital incentive for people to visiting museums more. It is often said that nowadays people are more facing obstacles in supporting in supporting their financial issues. Therefore, they opt for having recreations that are easily affordable. For example, according to the recent survey of the Tehran municipality, this year the number of the visitors to the museums during the new-year holidays exceed significantly in comparison with the last year. Government asserts that free tickets are the manifest cause of this escalation this year.

On the other hand, when it comes to increasing people awareness in term of the history, every one asserts that government should take an action with respect to improvement of this issue. Accordingly, the best incentive that would properly provoke people visiting museums is elimination of the admission fees. It is often announced by scholar that mere one visit to museums would positively comprehensively change the views of the people about history. For example, last year I was asked to survey fifty history students of my university by questionnaires. One question asked them ‘what was your mainspring motivation to choose your major’. Interestingly enough, sixty percent of the students mentioned visiting museum.

To sum up, in my personal view, it would be wise if government makes all the museums throughout the world free of charge. Not only would it lead to making people more interested in history of their nations, but it would also contribute to rising people information about the history.