Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that that should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Selecting university major nowadays is a crucial issue that has preoccupied every mentor to have suggestion for that. Some people assertively claim that student should be free to choose their major that they have affection for that. On the flip side, others hold the opposite view and they say believe that it would be wise if students pursue a field of study which would be effective in the future with respect to economic improvement and progress in science and technology. In my opinion, all the majors could have their own upsides to the both individuals and communities, so that I think the idea of the first party seems more reasonable. In this essay, I am going to delve to both points of views.

Restricting students to choosing some limited sorts of university field that would affect our future positively is very prevalent in our schools throughout the world by some consultants. By their prophecy, these are determined that majors would definitely lead to bright and prosperous future for students, although it is come up by current condition of society. For example, during the last 10 years the dominated career that has been embracing a significant part of the employment opportunities and alive industry in Iran is civil engineering. Thus, consultation in high school almost stimulates students to consider civil or architecture engineering as their priority in order to study universities. However, this indiscriminate decision is made mere by taking into account short-term results regardless of probable alteration over long-term perspective.

On the other hand, it is often quoted from eminent psychologist that human beings would adore following whatever they are passionate about. Similarly, selecting university major is an issue that should be chosen by a comprehensive consideration of student interest no matter what others say. Of course, to some extent, it is true that consultation is helpful in turn but it should be rational. Not only would inappropriate consulting blow up student’s future by undermining their interest, but it would also somehow kill their potential for beloved major for good. As a personal experience, about eleven years ago, I chose mechanical engineering as my field of study in university and I continue this major until master, though it was a definite waste of time. Unfortunately, my current job is completely irrelevant to my master degree in the light of the light of the fact that I decided to work in my beloved major, I mean civil engineering that has nothing to do with mechanic.

To sum up, It would be wise let student free choose their majors no matter how absurd it is called by others. Not only prohibiting students from pursuing their interest would ruin their flourishing, but also it would have detrimental effects on communities and students life.