Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

It is a tragedy that criminals continue perpetrating crimes after getting punished by the authorities. Although there are some reasons behind that, some steps could be implemented in order to overcome this issue.

There are some causes for re-committing crimes. First of all, offenders do not have any skills and are uneducated. Also, they have criminal records which undermine their reputations and nobody trusts them. As a result, that would be extremely difficult for the convicted felons to get hired in a company. In doing so, as the last resort, the offenders perpetuate criminal activities in order to make a living. Moreover, the convicts make a society for themselves in the jail and establish rapports with each other. So, in some cases they exchange information and plan for a crime in the future.

Nevertheless, some measure could be taken to address this problem. First and foremost, the government had better train inmates and help them acquire skills and abilities. Also, launching community service is a step up the rehabilitation ladder and it boosts felons’ confidence. Also, some psychologists should be hired to give the felons counselling for a healthy life in the future. Consequently, if the governments cared about the aforementioned points, the criminals would be equipped with the prerequisites for a new healthy life after the jail sentence.

In conclusion, recidivism is one of the problems in many societies. However, the authorities can not only figure out the reasons behind that but also they can take remedies to resolve this issue.