Many old buildings are protected by law because they are part of nation's history.

However, some people think old buildings should be knocked down to make way for new ones because people need houses and offices. How important is to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

Although the government in almost every nation contributes the immense efforts in protecting the old buildings because of the historical aspects, there are several citizens suggest that the authority should reconstruct the old buildings to make room for newer areas. Personally, the preservation of historical places are important, however, historical should not be the obstacle of development. In this essay, information and evidence are given to clarify my point of views.

Firstly, the importance of maintaining old buildings should be recognized carefully, but the need for constructing new places for citizens should receive more attention from authority. In detail, on the one hand, old buildings present as the visible evidence when teaching younger generation about historical moments. For example, although being destroyed dramatically in the World War II, Sanna Shrine gate still receives protection from Japanese authority until now, as the government wants to warn citizens about the effects of wars. However, the safety and expenses to preserver old buildings have to be taken into consideration to guarantee the historical values will not become the burden to our society.

Secondly, due to the overpopulation, the demand for houses and working areas keeps growing intensively. As a result, constructing new places for inhabitants has a likelihood of becoming an inevitable tendency. Obviously, the land fund is limited, therefore, the deconstruction old buildings to create the newer ones is unquestionable. Although the preservation of historical places is highly prioritized in majority of countries, the development of industrialization and modernization are essential. For example, several years ago in Vietnam, because of the beauty and historical meaning of the old bridge called “Long Bien” in Hanoi city, most people voted to keep it instead of replacing by a new one. Eventually, as the small size of the old bridge, which was built long time ago, could not afford the enormous number of vehicle. Consequently, people normally suffered from traffic jam when driving through this place.

To conclude, I believe the old constructions play a crucial role in our life, however the preservation of these historical evidence should be conducted efficiently to avoid conflicting with the human needs.