Many parents complain that computer games have no value to their children's study. On the contrary, those online games have produced a lot of negative effects on their mental and physical development. What is your opinion?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

The effect of computer games on children is a frequent topic of discussion. Nowadays, many parents assume that computer games are valueless and they negatively affect children’s life and development. Personally, I agree with that.

Besides some positive results, computer games still bring numerous disadvantages. The first point to note is that children spend too much time on playing them. Maybe at first, the main purpose is to relax after schooling. Nevertheless, it gradually turns into an addiction. This addiction has become popular worldwide among primary school children and adolescents. As a result, this brings physical problems such as short sightedness, headaches or obesity due to staying at home too long without exercising. Moreover, children are easy to get indulged in the virtual world of game. They cannot stop playing it and this will affect their studies negatively. In addition, if they play too much, they will have some psychological problems as well. The most common one is lose the ability to socialize. Another thing to note is that the world of game online is a dangerous place. This may be why cyberbullying happen so often among the young.

On the other hand, there are still some benefits of playing computer games. Educational games or puzzling games such as Bejeweled, The room,… are great games for learning and brain training.

Overall, I think that computer games cause more negative effects than positive one. Children’s time spent on playing them should be controlled wisely by parents so that teens and juniors can truly benefit from them.