In many parts of the world, children and teenagers are committing more crimes. What are the causes? How should these young criminals be punished?

In many countries, it is a cautious phenomenon that juvenile delinquency has increased significantly. Young offenders not only burden the victims but also threaten the safety of the community. Many efforts have already been made to reduce the proportion of adolescent crime, but the effect is not quite satisfactory at all. In this essay, I will discuss the causes of teenage crimes and illustrate relevant measures to solve this problem.

To begin with, the growth of criminals committed by teenagers comes from numerous reasons. First and foremost, the worsening family environment associated with lack of care and upbringing from them may affect young offenders' life in the near future. It is true that many families in this contemporary society have parents who always have to pay attention to work, promotion, and their income almost all the time. They tend to have less time to look after and care for their kids. As a result, growing up in such an environment, in most cases, these vulnerable teenagers are more likely to be willful and cynical. Hence, they may be caused by some mental syndromes like personality or post-traumatic stress disorders. Consequently, they are more easily led astray and can become perilous criminals. To illustrate, according to the Ministry of Public Security in Vietnam, 25% of offenders that commit serious crimes such as murder and rape, are most often young psychopaths, who suffer from mental illnesses at a very young age. Furthermore, social media is widely believed to play a vital role in this issue. Today, young people are bombarded by violence, drugs, sexual harassment via the Internet, and a number of socially online applications. These mental poisons have been seriously corrupting adolescents' innocent minds and arousing violent impulses.

Considering the alarming situation of juvenile crimes, it is about time that several effective measures of punishment need to be adapted as soon as possible. First, the government should promulgate a plethora of restrictions to strengthen the censorship of the commercialized mass media. In other words, they are obligated to strictly penalize some websites or TV stations that disseminate vulgar and cruel information. Therefore, teenagers can stay away from those toxic contents. Another solution is that, as for numerous habitual young perpetrators, it is feasible to sentence them to life imprisonment, which is an efficient way for rebellious kids to reshape their moral values. These methods not only provide a safe environment for citizens, but they also exert a deterrent effect on some potential lawbreakers. Additionally, young offenders who suffer from various mental syndromes should be forced to participate in psychological courses at penitentiaries. If they clearly show changes in attitude, the length of punishments may be considered to declining. Last but not least, parents have to assume the responsibility of educating and guiding their kids. They can tell children about so many criminal cases and their sentences, which can have a strong influence on their son or daughter and discourage them from committing crimes and lead them to be potentially dangerous lawbreakers.

In summary, juvenile crime is increasing day by day due to a lack of upbringing from parents and negative influence from social media. As a consequence, appropriate punishment should be meted out by the government and parents to bring more safety to the public. At the same time, adolescents should establish the right life outlook.