In many parts of the world children and teenagers are committing more crimes Why is this happening How should they be punished

These days, in many countries, an increasing number of offspring and juveniles are turning to crime. This trend undoubtedly can be attributed to several factors and this essay will suggest possible solutions to tackle these problems.

Young people breaking the law is attributed to two main reasons. First, given that parents are always busy at work, their children would lack parental guidance and caring. Youngsters, as a consequence, are much likely to get into trouble such as vandalism in view of feeling loneliness. Second, Violence in the media can affect the attitudes and behavior of young people. They tend to imitate a character’s gestures, vocal behavior and actions, which leads to repeat acts of violence when they face problems. In other words, they would commit a violent crime including assault, shooting and murder. To exemplify this point, after having a conflict, Ken, a fourteen - year - old boy living in Ha Noi,the capital of Viet Nam, had attempted to assault his classmate. The victim, as a result, became ill and was rushed to hospital.

There are some viable factors, taken by the authorities, to give punishments to young offenders. Teenagers who commit minor crimes such as pickpocketing should be sent to the youth care office, which will provide counselling and force them to do community work. Moreover, for those who have carried out severe crimes should receive harsh punishment such as imprisonment at least six months regardless of their ages. This helps juveniles be fully aware of their actions and know the rules of society.

In conclusion, parental neglect and violence in media content are two contributors to causing a trend of young delinquency. The government should enforce a law to prevent youth crime.