In many parts of the world, some famous people are considered ‘role models', and they are having an increasing influence on the young. Is this a positive or negative development?

Celebrities are becoming new role models for young people in different regions of the world. In my opinion, this phenomenon has a positive impact and I will explain the reasons in this essay.

Famous people can be a motivation for many young individuals to thrive in their career paths. There are celebrated people who have inspired the younger generation through their achievements in different fields such as art, music and science. Taylor Swift, for example, is an inspirational singer and songwriter who has motivated her fans to follow their goals with dedication and passion through her journey to success. Many other successful celebrities in other fields are also inspiring young fans to work hard in their lives through their paths to achieve success.

Another benefit of this development is that it can encourage young people to break boundaries regardless of any difficulties to pursue their aims. Disabled athletes winning first place in different competitions such as swimming or running can be role models for young individuals with the same disabilities to keep their confidence to overcome obstacles. Despite her cerebral palsy, wheelchair racer Kare Adenegan won three medals with her debut in The Paralympics 2016, thereby becoming an inspiration for other young disabled athletes to follow their dreams regardless of any boundaries. These role models’ influence on the younger generation can be encouraging for them in making breakthroughs in their lives.

In conclusion, this phenomenon can influence young individuals positively because these successful celebrities not only motivate them to thrive, but also encourage them to overcome challenges to accomplish their dreams.