Many people are now opting to provide technology companies with their personal data in exchange for access to software. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, it is common for people to agree to give their personal information to many tech companies in order to use their service. Despite the convenience to access free many apps, the risk of leaking personal data and its consequences far outweigh any advantages.

Using many apps free of charge is the favor of most people, especially the youth, who are always curious about new things. In order to get approval from technology firms, many people do not hesitate to provide the right to access their personal data and they are happy to try many apps as possible to make their lives more comfortable. For example, Google Map is a famous app for direction, which help millions of commuters traveling around the world without the GPS, but it also requests to access user’s location and phone before using the app. Therefore, I believe that users should not neglect the hidden risk of revealing this data to them due to the risk of breaking personal privacy.

Although people can be beneficial from accessing free software, it also brings some serious dangers to them. The evident risk is the leaking of an individual’s data to third parties, which can lead to massive effects on people’s lives. What would happen if they use this data for illegal activities such as scams? For instance, cyber-criminals can hack personal information from techs companies and use them to hack bank accounts of users or take advantage of their SIN number, credit score to loan money illegally. Many people have lost completely their credit score and faced extreme difficulties to rent a house or get the approval for their mortgage. Their lives could be changed completely because of this incident.

In conclusion, the negative effects of leaking personal information to many technology firms far outweigh the benefits that their software can bring to users. It is recommended that everyone should review the term and conditions of any software twice before they agree with them.