Children are experiencing the increasing educational, social and commercial pressure. What are the causes? What measures do you think can be taken to reduce them?

Children are under the greater pressure of academic and social skill learning. The primary cause of this phenomenon is the over expectation of parents and the most viable solution to reduce this burden is to raise a public awareness campaign warning adults about the serious consequences of studying too hard.

In many countries, especially in Asia, parents always would like their children to be the best at school. In order to achieve the highest academic outcomes, children must take many additional courses to boost their grades which can help them to enroll in top universities in the world. Moreover, they are also expected to become a perfect student, who can be excellent not only in academics but also in extra curriculums such as music and sports. Therefore, they have to spend most of their time to learn and practice intensively. This results in lacking sleeping and physical activities, which can affect seriously children’s mental, emotional and intellectual development. For example, a recent survey of Queen University showed that 56% of high school students in China are suffering from obesity and depression.

To tackle this problem, the government should launch a publicity campaign in the media and in schools to warn parents about the dangers of studying long hours and not spending enough time for rest. Many parents have not realized the heavy strain they have put on their children as well as the effects of this pressure on the healthy development of children, so they tend to require children trying harder. On the other side, children are also afraid to speak to parents about their difficulties. An awareness campaign could shed some light on this difficult situation and allow children to be more open about it. A similar initiative in Japan resulted in a 54% decrease in students calling in sick to school because of mental fatigue.

In conclusion, the unrealistic expectation of parents is the primary reason to explain why children have to carry the increasing burden of education and social skills training, and we can reduce this pressure by giving the warning messages to parents.