Wealthy countries should accept more refugees and provide them with basic assistance such as food and housing. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that refugees should be approved more by wealthy states and provided with the initial support to settle sustainably in new countries. This essay totally agrees with this statement because only rich nations could have enough financial ability to accept a larger number of these people and this is also a great solution for these states to increase their population to solve their labor shortage.

Developed countries usually have a surplus in their financial balance which can be used to admit more people who have fled from their original hometowns because of the civil wars. This is because that these nations will have to spend a huge amount of money to aid displaced people to resettle successfully in new lands. For example, the Canada government reported that they spent 25 million dollars in 2015 to welcome 25,000 Syrian refugees to come to Canada. All of them were provided not only air tickets to Canada but also the primary accommodation for the first 2 years such as housing, meals, and education.

Another reason why rich states should accept more refugees is that they also can be beneficial from this humanitarian aid. Developed nations normally are facing the aging population, leading to the lack of labor forces, so if they receive more immigrants including refugees, this problem can be solved quickly. Most refugees are young people who could contribute their talents and hard works to their new residential states. For example, Japan, Canada, and Germany have coped with the severe lack of labor in the agriculture and manufacturing industry. By receiving a massive of refugees from Syria recently, they could reduce the high demand for labor in these sectors.

In conclusion, the number of approved refugees in wealthy states should be increased because only these nations have the ability to do that and this also helps them to tackle the issue of the labor shortage.