Topic: Some people believe that the government should provide financial assistance to all artists including painter, musicians and poets. Others think that it is a waste of money. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some would argue that creative artists should be subsidized, while others say that this support is wasteful. While financial assistance for all artists can help to preserve the culture and create more quality masterpieces, I believe that it is more beneficial for citizens if this fund can be allocated to other principal services such as healthcare and education.

On the one hand, the main reason why authorities should help painters, musicians and poets is that it could support them to make more quality works of art to serve the public. The funding of governments also conserves traditional arts because they are non-profitable. So that by subsidizing all artists, more creative paintings, songs, poems would be produced to serve local people and visitors, enriching the culture of the country. For example, if Hanoi City Council did not give great financial support for a group of young painters, who created many statues in city centers that have been a landmark of the city for tourists, they would not complete their works within one year.

On the other hand, people, who believe that funding for artists is wasting money, argue that the national budget should be prioritized to invest in the basic services for individuals. This is because primary sectors such as medical and education services will affect massively to residents’ lives if they are out of date. For instance, in many developing countries, people still can not access adequately to healthcare services to get proper treatments for serious diseases such as cancer. By improving this situation, many people will be cured. Therefore, I believe that governments should spend most of their budget on healthcare and education.

In conclusion, although governments’ assistance in arts can help to produce more interesting works of art and maintain the national culture, I believe that it is more important to invest money in other essential public services, which can have greater effects on people.