In some countries, it is becoming increasingly common for people to follow a vegetarian diet. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The vegetarian diet has become more and more popular in many states. Despite the lack of protein and several minerals supply to the body, the benefits of being healthier and reducing environmental pollution far outweigh any drawbacks.

A diet that does not consume meat can affect the physical growth of humans. This is because meat can supply a large amount of energy, protein, and essential minerals to support both the physical and emotional activities of people. With insufficient sources of energy provided, some functions of our body may not work properly. For example, if people do not eat beef, they may face a shortage of red blood cells because the body is not provided enough iron to form them. However, I believe that this shortage can be solved by using supplements such as multivitamins tablets to balance the demand of the body.

A healthy lifestyle with a vegetarian diet can improve people’s health significantly. That is to say that eating lots of vegetables can prevent people from obesity, which causes many serious diseases such as diabetes and heart disease. The reason is that a vegetarian diet can avoid overconsumption of food and generating excessive energy, which relates directly to overweight. Moreover, a green consuming habit also reduces waste released to the environment and decreases the CO2 emission, which is released from cultivation. For instance, the University of Guelph recently reported that the percentage of vegetarians suffer from diabetes is only 50% of those who have a conventional diet. It means that a vegetarian diet is a perfect solution to make humans stronger and our planet greener.

In conclusion, although there is a minus point regarding the lack of nutrition, I believe that the great advantages of being vegetarians far outstrip the drawbacks in terms of better health and cleaner environment.