Topic: Some would say that it is possible for a country to be both economically successful and have a clean environment. Others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some would argue that a country cannot develop its economy without damaging the environment, while others say that it is possible to grow both. While many states choose to boost their economy by ignoring environmental protection standards to gain more competitive advantages, I believe that focusing on eco-friendly industries would be a better approach to increase GDP and maintain a clean environment.

On the one hand, many developing countries have the ambition to develop quickly at any price by using their advantages of cheap labor, large natural resources and low requirements of environmental protection to attract more investors. This results in a booming of economy and polluting environment. In many developing countries such as China and Vietnam, in order to achieve two digits growth rate annually, governments have neglected so many serious effects on environments that come from many factories with the low standard of environmental protection. As a result, these countries are facing heavy environmental pollution, and they have spent billions of dollars to tackle this problem.

On the other hand, it is possible to grow GDP and preserve the environment at the same time. If a government concentrates to develop high – tech industries and tourism, the GDP of that country will increase, and the environment will be protected. This is because the non-smoke industries such as IT and tourism, which do not consume much energy and natural resources, can create billions of dollars if they produce high-quality products and services. In the United State, tech companies such as Apple and Google have annual revenues are even higher than the total GDP of Brazil, where the main industry is mining. Therefore, I believe that investing in clean industries should be a sustainable solution to make the country prosperous and clean.

In conclusion, although lower environmental protection regulations can bring greater competition for some countries to grow economy quickly, it would cause many serious consequences in the environment, that is why a sustainable approach to develop environment-friendly manufacturing is a better solution for every country.