In the past, people store knowledge in books. Nowadays, they store knowledge on the Internet. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, it is common for people to upload knowledge to the cloud rather than to memory them in print media, which had been popular in the past. Despite there are some dangers of losing information due to technical issues, I believe that the benefits of unlimited storage capacity and easy accessibility far outweigh any drawbacks.

On the one hand, the main disadvantage of uploading everything to the Internet is the risk of losing information. If there is a cyber attack or a technical error, online content will disappear, and there is no feasible remedy to fix this problem. This would never happen if the information were stored in printed material, which was used widely in the past. For example, Conestoga College recently reported a cyber-attack to its e-library, resulted in losing most of the scientific researches in the chemistry department. However, I believe that technical problems can be prevented by using the cybersecurity services from reputable companies to protect data of individuals and organizations.

On the other hand, I believe that the benefits of this trend are much more significant. In the past, people had faced difficulties to find information because they had to read many books in a library or school. They also experienced the challenge of finding places to keep valued books because of the large number of them. In this era, people can store whatever they want in clouds or virtual spaces, which are not only inexpensive but also allow them to have unlimited capacity. Moreover, they also can easily access any knowledge by a click of a mouse, which is faster and more convenient than before. For example, OneDrive allows users uploading up to 500 GB to their accounts at only 10 US dollars annually, and they can download these files less than 5 minutes.

In conclusion, there is a drawback to use the Internet as an alternative storage solution regarding the risk of technical issues. However, it seemed to me that its advantages far outstrip this drawback in terms of the larger storage ability and the convenience of obtaining information.