Many people are working longer hours. Why is this happening? What problems can this cause to people?

It is true that spending more time at work is more common in recent years. There are a number of reasons for this trend, but I believe that the effects may be damaging to health and family life.

There are two major reasons why people are at risk of becoming workaholics. Firstly, they are overworking due to the pressure from daily necessities and work. This can be explained by the fact that In many cities, due to the escalating living cost, people are made to work extra hours to afford lives. In other words, overworking now is not an option but rather an obligation for many people to survive. Secondly, since the competition at work is becoming more intense than ever, few people now have a steady job. Thus, they willingly accept a heavy workload to avoid being redundant. They reckon that taking on more responsibilities can help them and their organizations thrive.

The harmful effects on health and family life are serious. It is undeniable that working extra hours will financially benefit people at the cost of their mental and physical health. This means that overworking will put a person under immense pressure, which can make his health deteriorate and cause stress-related illnesses. Furthermore, In terms of family life, overworking can accelerate one’s professional growth, however, will leave them little time for themselves and their families. They are less likely to gain work-life balance and will risk the well-being of their close relationships, exposing them to depression and isolation in the future.

In conclusion, While it is understandable why people are spending more time at work, I believe that the merits it brings are not worth the price one needs to pay.