Films were produced by big companies in the past, but today people are able to make a film. Do you think this trend is positive or negative?

These days, filmmaking has no longer been restricted to large corporations as individuals can easily make videos. This shift has profound effects on cinematography, and I would argue that it brings about both merits and demerits.

On the one hand, amateur filmmakers would bring considerate benefits. First, Independent films equal creative freedom. It can be explained by the fact that Producers of independent films are able to express themselves freely as they do not have to follow the same demands that big box office films have to. Second, independent films can employ more explicit, honest, and deal with more sensitive issues. In fact, As independent films are made outside of major Hollywood studios, they are also not as heavily censored.

On the other hand, Despite the admitted pros listed above, the widespread of amateur filmmakers comes at a price. First, independent movie creators are not under regulations and are more likely to infringe the copyright, causing damage to big brands’ reputations and profits. Second, as small-budget movies do not undergo censorship, they can be rife with violent or offensive content. For example, many videos on Youtube employ some inappropriate scenes such as pornography to increase viewership, leaving detrimental effects on the audience, especially those at impressionable ages.

In conclusion, although the emerging trend of individuals making films may downgrade the quality of films, this shift allows more diversity and honest content.