Many students find it difficult to concentrate or pay attention in school. What are the reasons? What could be done to solve this problem?

It is true that many students these days find it increasingly difficult to pay attention during lessons. Although this problem can be attributed by a whole host of reasons, some feasible solutions can be considered to address this.

There are two major reasons why pupils find it struggling to focus at school. The first one is natural predisposition. It can be explained by the fact that Students throughout history have always wanted to escape their school lessons. This is because learning is difficult and provides little pleasure itself relative to both passive and active pastimes like hanging out with friends, watching TV, listening to music, or playing sports. Another reason is that the advent of the ubiquitous internet era and portable devices such as smartphones has had an exponential effect on attention spans and diversionary priorities. Most students today are addicted to short videos and posts on social media networks and therefore struggle to follow the intricate arguments of lengthy lectures and extended readings.

To address the underlying causes, I would propose two solutions. The most immediate fix would be to ban phones. This is difficult since phones serve practical purposes such as allowing students to call their parents or book a ride home, but they could be taken at the beginning of the day and returned when school finishes. Another step schools could take would be to modernize the curriculum and account for reduced attention spans. Lessons could be shorter and could include more interactivity in order to stimulate learning, rather than the passive learning environment that has led to daydreaming students for generations.

In conclusion, although this trend is likely an irreversible part of human nature and progress, schools can implement changes to curb its effects. It is important for parents and governments to be supportive of such reforms as well.