Many people are working longer hours Why is this happening What problems can this cause to people

An increasing number of people decide to spend more and more time at work. This phenomenon can be explained by 2 main reasons, one is job promotions, one is a rise in salary levels. Extra hours of working instigate plenty of concerning fitness problems as well as reduce the private time for oneself and families.

There are 2 feasible push factors that encourage workers to dedicate more and more time and effort at work. Firstly, spending more hours working means employees can detect their mistakes and therefore enhance their skills, which ultimately lead to a job promotion. The more skillful the workers are, the more tasks they can handle, and when they receive lots of credibility because of their hard work and brilliant skills, they will get a higher position in their work. Secondly, not only devote time for promotions, but employees also desire higher salary levels to boost their living standards. This is because most enterprises offer an extra wage for personnel who work longer hours. For example, the HBI, a garment corporation, pays a bonus of 10 dollars for people who work 3 hours more than usual.

Despite a list of wonderful advantages of working more hours, people who get involved might have to face some serious issues. Firstly, the more hours people spend working, the less leisure time they have for themselves and family. As a result, relationships within a family can be disturbed because of a lack of gathering time. Secondly, in terms of well-being, the insufficiency of time for unwinding will result in fatigue and devastation, more seriously, anxiety and depression. If an employee cannot have time for relaxing, plus pressure from works, they will definitely suffer from stress, which gradually becomes depression, a dangerous mental disease. In addition, for those like garment and manufacturing workers, sitting for such a long time will cause obesity and spinal degeneration.

In conclusion, there are 2 explanations why people tend to work more extra hours, which are promotion purposes and salary boosts. However, it means that there is a reduction in personal and family spare time along with a rise in several health issues.