Many people are working longer hours. Why is this happening? What problems can this cause to people?

In this day and age, there have been a surge in the amount of people who are accepting working overtime instead of following the typical nine-to-five workday. It is considered as an upheaval trend. the primary reasons behind are that there are loads of workloads and people need to ensure a stable income. Although working longer hours likely continue, it has adverse impacts on human being’s health and quality of life.

The undeniable fact is nowadays the needs to work additional hours often stems from increasing demand in the workplace. To keep up with the competition in an increasingly globalized marketplace, employees are expected to assume a high volume of work, often with inadequate staff and support. This has resulted in employees having to work extra hours to compensate. Moreover, the old mindset about that parents must make every effort as much as possible to do work and accumulate for the next generation still exists to date. Therefore, it is evident that their perspectives are always chasing an ambitious dream that can able to hold a huge volume of property that not only make sure them have high quality of life, but also bring a brighter prospect for their descendants in the future. If everyone does not devote their extra valuable time to work, it is likely that they may face loads of difficulties in terms of finance. Because of the fact that the world is experiencing fast-paced growth leading to the surge in the cost of living.

Extra office hours can adversely affect workers’ health, as well as their private lives. First of all, working overtime can lead to a lack of sufficient rest, decrease in energy and may concentrate well to solve problems because they cannot allocate their time to relieve all out of stress and refresh themselves for a long time working under pressure. It is often said by scientists that those who have to sit in their office in long-lasting spans, they may likely increase the risk of strokes and prone spinal injuries, etc. In addition, as more time is spent at work, workers probably less time for their beloved ones, more precisely it is possible to create an intangible barrier with everyone surrounded them and weaken bonds between family members and friends. As a result, this can generate a pang of general dissatisfaction, in the long run it potentially become a catalyst for stress.

In conclusion, extended working hours due to serving the demands of workplace and desiring high source of finance. It can make an important contribution to prevent employees from a healthy and balance life. Hence, the local governments should take a consider to impose a strict and appropriate law about weekly time-work standards.