Many people argue that in order to improve educational quality, high school students are encouraged to make comments or even criticism on their teachers. Others think it will lead to loss of respect and discipline in the classroom. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is claimed by some that if teachers received feedbacks or criticisms from their students, the quality of education could be enhanced. On the contrary, there is a notion that respect and discipline in a class would be threatened if teachers allow children to assess their educators. In my opinion, I agree with both the former and the latter.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why giving high school students the liberty in expressing their thoughts and feelings to teachers could better educational quality. Firstly, level of comprehension of learners would not just base on the content of lessons, it also counts on the way teachers inspire students. For instance, teachers may teach too fast so their student can not follow, however, thanks to learners’ responds, teachers could adjust their speeds and methods so that students would fully retain knowledge. Secondly, with detailed comments from students, mutual understanding between teachers and students could greatly increase. Therefore, the teachers could explore what is the optimal approach to captivate learners in their lesson.

On the other hand, students given permission to evaluate their teachers could carry the lack of respect and discipline in classrooms. The first explanation is that students are immature and inexperienced, they could not control their behaviors in some cases and easily give numerous negative words or even severe criticism to teachers, who strives to help them mature day by day. It could lead to teachers’ vulnerability and impair their morale in teaching. Moreover, classes tend to be in chaos because of massive comments. Manifold opinions from students could put teachers under pressure since pleasing all students is impossible. For instance, there are 25 students in a class which means daily after school time, teachers will receive 25 different judgments included negative words. It is absolutely an overload for them.

In conclusion, from my viewpoint, giving children the right to display their real emotions could positive influence educational quality to some extent, nevertheless, it need to be taken into account seriously due to a number of drawbacks.