Many people choose to copy celebrities seen on TV and in magazines. Is it a positive or a negative development?

No one can argue that many superstars have some influence to our lives. Most people tend to follow all their lives like their favorite stars which can bring some negative effects to them. Some people assume that the media always presents all superstar photos and their lifestyle as a role model of the public. However, some people follow their superstars’ lifestyle these days due to their preference. The cause and effects from this statement will be discussed further.

The main cause of this trend is the media. The media always present celebrities in overall their lives such as their lifestyle, their favorite activities and even their preference. Celebrities’ images are covered in many magazines and play in many TV shows which are all popular and successful. Most people assume that being a star means having a perfect life and being an attraction from others which are all required in people lives. Consequently, people prefer to follow and imitate their favorite star behaviors even though they have bad behaviors.

These are some negative developments from this trend. Firstly, some bad behaviors from the stars can be copied by young people. Many teenagers, who are not mature enough, can follow all behaviors from their love stars. Secondly, materialistic aspects can be caused from copying celebrities. Stars always use all expensive material such as luxury cars, lavish house or pricy cloths. If a person spends a lot of money on these unnecessary items, it will put a lot of pressure on their financial statement. Lastly, the ideal of being beautiful like superstars will lead to a high number of people mimic their feature of faces to be as similar as superstars are. Not any feature of face that most people want to copy, but people also mimic star’s body shape. People might use weight lost medication or getting surgery.

In conclusion, following celebrities can develop some problems such as inappropriate behaviors, materialistic belief or lost identity. However, people should concern that celebrities are not always a good role model for copying.