Many people complain about commercial advertisements and their influence on children. Should it be controlled by the government? What are the possible effects on children?

Nowadays advertising brochures, posters, television spreads a lot of promotional items. We cannot deny the fact that minors fall under the pressure more often than anybody else. Some people claim that marketing should have a framework in distribution some products because of negative consequences. And should it be limited by the state?

Fist of all, children don’t have a clear understanding of the profitable purposes for the advertisements, their desires are under marketing control. This problem has an explanation that they are guided by colourful pictures, signage and slogans on the package. For instance, ice cream with popular cartoon character on the package is in a higher demand.

The next reason is that it can lead to serious problems with health, bad eating habits.Statistics show that diet-related illnesses among young people are on the rise. The problem consists in paying attention of child on harmful food by advertisement, for example: hamburger, sweets, crackers, which are high in fat, sugar and salt. As an example, a big number of american teenagers suffer from obesity, heart disease, diabetes.

Furthermore, parents have to spend more money on things their children want, which are not necessary at all. The reason being it leads to extra cost for family budget, but some families can’t afford additional expenditure.

In conclusion, promotional companies need to be regulated by the government structures, otherwise it can damage children’s rights to be independent in their choice and ability to formulate defense mechanism in perception of the advertisement.