Many people have a close relationship with their pets. These people treat their birds, cats, or other animals like members of their family. In your opinion, are such relationships good? Why or why not? Use specific reasons and examples to support your ans

There is no doubt that identity fraud is a great concern, especially in western countries where

people are most at risk. I think there are two main causes and a number of damaging effects.

The major cause is probably the almost universal use of digital technology to store financial

data and undertake financial transactions. It is surprisingly easy for criminals to obtain personal

information about a possible victim, and then to use this information to impersonate the target.

Because bank accounts and loans can be applied for digitally, without the need for face-to-face

contact, the criminals are able to apply for financial products remotely, often before the victim is even

aware of the attack. The second key cause is, I believe, the increasing probability of ‘traditional’

crimes (such as armed robbery, mugging or burglary) being detected. When criminals see the

widespread use of CCTV, DNA profiling and fingerprinting, they are less inclined to indulge in such

old-fashioned crimes. Rather, they prefer the lower risk and more profitable use of data-based

crimes.

The effects on the unfortunate victims can be quite devastating. Firstly, there is the loss of

money from bank accounts or by being connected to a fraudulent loan. In some cases, this can take

years for the victim to pay back or resolve with the banks and the authorities. Secondly, there is the

damage to their credit rating, which means they may find it impossible to obtain legitimate credit in the future. In extreme cases, people’s employment prospects can even be damaged as well, as they find

themselves profiled as a financial risk.

Overall, the presence of technology and the decline of ‘traditional’ crimes are the key causes

behind this trend. The effects on the victims involve long-term financial hardship in many instances.