Many people prefer to watch foreign films rather than locally produced films.

Why could this be? Should governments give more financial support to local film industries?

It is true that the behaviour of many people are more likely to watch exotic films than domestically produced films in recent years. There are a variety of possible reasons for this, but steps can definitely be taken to tackle the problem by governments.

The reason why foreign films have attracted most watchers is that big budget, famous actors and directors and so on. To be specifically, those films with big budget have always brought top-grossing films, which means that film makers could apply more technology like three-dimentions and display marvelous special effects for viewers. in addition, foreign movies are often acted by famous stars so that some of fans are might support their idols who attend movies. Moreover, it is necessary that excellent directors who received professional education and accumulated abundant experiences and also produced some high-quality films that people need and pursued.

Compared to exotic films, governments could provide funds for domestically produced films and talented film makers. Firstly, the film industry is a highly profitable business, and many top-grossing films have considerable profits, if local films populated around the world. Secondly, those talented film makers need the investment to produce high-quality films which can compete with foreign movies. For instance, some local movies which record customs as well as traditional way of life and without government funds, it is difficult to succeed.

In conclusion, it must be extremely difficult for people to choose which films to watch, but I would like to see more and more pubic would like to support domestically produced films.