Many people prefer to watch foreign films rather than locally produced films. Why could this be?

Should governments give more financial support to local film industries?

It is true that people are likely to opt for foreign movies rather than domestically produced ones. There are several reasons for this, and personally, I think the government should not support local film producers financially.

The main reason put to explain why people favor foreign films over their local ones is the superior quality they could produce. Thanks to their high budget, foreign filmmakers are more able to invest in special effects and content than local producers. Take “Kong” for example, generous budget enables the film crew to arrive in one of the most spectacular destinations in Viet Nam – "Ninh Binh" to shoot their film. That is not the case of domestically produced films, which most of their scenes take place in only one or a few places inside the country. In addition to the shooting, famous cast and their capabilities of acting in foreign productions might be a plus to the viewers.

In spite of the locally produced films’ weakness, the government should not be made to subsidize film industries. Indeed, there are many other areas that in more urgent need of government’s financial aid. As entertainment activity is of expensive luxury, should this sector of the entertainment industry be funded, there is no sound reason for the government to deny any area’s request for financial subsidy. This will inevitably lead to a shortage in public fund, possibly putting more pressure on the taxpayers.

In conclusion, limited budget to invest in quality enhancement is what put local movies in a disadvantageous position in their own domestic market. However, the government should not financially intervene in as there are other areas should be prioritized.