Everyone should adopt a vegetarian diet because eating meat can cause serious health problems.

Do you agree or disagree?

It is true that adopting a vegetarian diet could be greatly beneficial in terms of avoiding serious health issues that a meat diet can cause. I partly agree with this view, however, people could otherwise choose to take less meat and add more vegetables to their diet.

On the one hand, a vegetarian diet can have a positive impact on people’s health. People who choose to abstain from meat are known for having a greater life expectancy than those choosing not to. This superiority of longevity of vegetarians have over meat-eaters could be explained by the very detrimental nature of animal fats. Particularly, fats derived from animals are more likely than those from plants or fruits to cause arteriosclerosis which mainly contributes to premature old age and its following medical problems. Moreover, an excessive intake of meat, especially of high-fat meat, could greatly enhance the levels of stress, and even worse, cause people to be more liable to plunge into depression.

However, conversion into vegetarianism is unnecessary should people can properly alter their diets. Increasing the proportion of vegetables in one’s diet while at the same time cutting down on meat is a viable alternative to a complete non-meat diet. By doing this, people are able to enjoy the advantage and enjoyment of a meat diet while helping them less liable to many medical problems associated with consuming red meat. On the other side, since most people have long been accustomed to taking meat a complete transition to a non-meat diet could be arduous and challenging to some. Besides, a vegetarian meal at present which is adequate to the body and pleasing to the palate involves much expense of time and energy, so that a quasi-vegetarian one which does not require a full commitment of abstinence from meat could be a more preferable option.

In conclusion, vegetarianism could greatly benefit people's health. However, a scientifically balanced diet which still allows people to eat meat could be preferable to those who cannot give up meat altogether.