In the past, people spent the entire life doing one job. But nowadays, they change their jobs frequently. Give reasons.

It is true that people in the modern world move from one job to another more often than they were in the past. There are several reasons for this and solutions to solve this problem.

On the one hand, there are more employment opportunities for a person now than they were twenty years ago. As globalization has paved the way for the expansion of multinational companies and direct investments into developing nations, necessary manpower is in high demand to feed the production. Moreover, employers tend to perceive their workers as temporary ones and not appreciate their commitment to the company on account of their likelihood of job hopping. Therefore, employees are not sufficiently invested in either the physical or emotional sense. These factors together have formed a vicious cycle in which employees find themselves more likely to steer their careers towards a different course.

On the other hand, there has been a remarkable change in employees’ attitudes towards their workplace. Employees are no longer willing to settle with one particular job or company merely out of economic necessity. Along with requiring emoluments to commensurate with their merits, they are also aware that self-improvement and - expression is needed if job satisfaction is to be achieved. For example, an employee may well be demotivated by not being delegated responsibilities though he or she can earn a lucrative income when holding the position. For that reason, if a company are not able to recognize and address these needs, they are on the verge of driving their workers, including the able ones, away from their existing workforce. Therefore, they risk wasting their resources that invested in these people.

In conclusion, there are various reasons to explain why people no longer devote much of their lives to one particular career or workplace. The onus is on the employers to adapt to their workers’ changing requirements.