In the past, people spent the entire life doing one job. But nowadays, they change their jobs frequently. Give reasons.

It is true that people in the modern world move from one job to another more often than they were in the past. There are several reasons for this and solutions to solve this problem.

On the one hand, there are certainly more employment opportunities for a person now than it was in twenty years ago. As globalization pave the way for the expansion of multinationals and direct investments in developing countries, necessary manpower is on demand to feed the production. Moreover, employers now tend to perceive their workers as temporary ones and not value as much their commitment to the company on account of their tendency of job hopping. Therefore, they are not invested either in the physical or emotional sense. These lead to a vicious cycle in which employees find themselves more likely to steer their careers towards a different course.

On the other hand, there has been a remarkable change in employees’ attitude towards their workplace. Gone is the time where employees were willing to settle with one particular company merely out of economic necessity. Along with requiring emoluments to be commensurate with their merits, they also aware that self-improvement and - expression is needed to gain job satisfaction. For example, an employee may well be demotivated by not being delegated responsibilities though he or she gets lucrative incomes when holding the position. For that reason, if a company are not able to recognize and address these needs, they are on the verge of driving their talents away from their workforce, therefore wasting their resources which invested in these persons.

In conclusion, there are various reasons to explain why people no longer devote their the whole life to one career or workplace. The onus is on the employers to adapt their policy to their workers’ changing requirements.