In the past, people spent the entire life doing one job. But nowadays, they change their jobs frequently. Give reasons.

It is true that people in the modern world move from one job to another more often than they were in the past. There are several reasons for this and solutions to solve this problem.

On the one hand, there are more employment opportunities for a person now than it was in twenty years ago. As globalization has paved the way for the expansion of multinational companies and direct investments into developing countries, necessary manpower is on demand to feed the production. Moreover, employers tend to perceive their workers as temporary ones and not appreciate their commitment to the company on account of their likelihood of job hopping. Therefore, employees are not sufficiently invested in either the physical or emotional sense. These factors together have formed a vicious cycle in which employees find themselves more likely to steer their careers towards a different course.

On the other hand, there has been a remarkable change in employees’ attitude towards their workplace. Employees are no longer willing to settle with one particular job or company merely out of economic necessity. Along with requiring emoluments to commensurate with their merits, they also aware that self-improvement and - expression is needed so as to gain job satisfaction. For example, an employee may well be demotivated by not being delegated responsibilities though he or she can earn a lucrative income when holding the position. For that reason, if a company are not able to recognize and address these needs, they are on the verge of driving their workers, including the able ones, away from their workforce. Therefore they risk wasting their resources which invested in these people.

In conclusion, there are various reasons to explain why people no longer devote much of their lives to one particular career or workplace. The onus is on the employers to adapt their policy to their workers’ changing requirements.