Topic: Today many children spend a lot of time playing computer games and little time on sports. Why is it? Is it a positive or negative development?

Technological advances have been infiltrating every aspect of life and transformed the lifestyles of both adults and children. Young children now spend a larger amount of time than ever on computer games and less involve in sports and other physical activities. There can be many reasons for this and this trend is undoubtedly a negative development.

Easy access to computers and other technological gadgets is one of the main reasons. As computers have become cheaper and working parents have less time for their children, computer game consoles are seen as an inexpensive distraction for children when they need their parents’ attention. Indeed, adults are not aware of the detrimental effects of computers have for the development of their teenagers and continue to use them for the sake of the entertainment of their children.

Firstly, it is widely acknowledged that there is a link between lack of exercises and child obesity. In fact, inaction and insufficient physical activities lead to a wider range of adolescent diseases such as type-II diabetes, cardiovascular diseases and mental ailments. Secondly, computer game addiction adversely affected children’s academic performance and achievement in schools. Since a large amount of time is wasted on computer games, there is little time for exercises and exam revision

In conclusion, the disproportionate portion of time that children allocate for computer games, sports as well as schoolwork results from the ready availability and lack of full understanding of their parents about its effects, and this is clearly a harmful lifestyle.